Hold On to Your Dreams and Visions

I’ve always known deep down inside that I was born to be a writer. I began reading at the age of four, and over the years my love of reading became a passion for books and writing. As that passion grew, my dreams of becoming a writer did too. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I realized that I not only wanted to be a writer, but was called by God to be a writer though. I never wanted to be a teacher, the thought alone used to disinterest me. I only took a teaching job upon graduating from college with a bachelor’s degree in English to have extra money and pay bills. However, two years later and three teaching positions later, I realized that I could no longer teach for a living because I was trying to fit into a job position that I wasn’t called to do. For as long as I could remember, I’ve been good at writing winning competitions, prizes, and praise from teachers and others. It’s a gift from God, and I feel most free and me when I’m writing.
There were many times over the years I turned and walked away from my dream of writing, but God would always call me again. I wanted to quit writing because some person or other was always trying to discourage me from the dream and vision that God placed in my heart.
I’ve learned to embrace my calling, and not to let the demands and expectations of other people derail me from the will and calling of God on my life. Most people want to see you give up on your dreams because they did, but giving up isn’t an option for me with my calling from God chasing me down the way it does.
Not everyone will be happy for you when you’re called by God to do something that they don’t want you to do. Neither will they be happy when your dream comes to fruition before their eyes. Nevertheless, as long as you’re doing what God’s called you to do and it makes you happy, keep holding on to your dreams and visions from God.

Hold on to your dreams and visions from God.

Don’t let anyone or anything discourage you.

Not all people can be teachers, doctors, and lawyers.

There has to be some quirky writers, artists, and musicians

in the world too, you know!

Happy April!!!!! 🙂

17 thoughts on “Hold On to Your Dreams and Visions

  1. You are absolutely right! And when we run from or aren’t in line with what God wills for our lives we know it because nothing ever feels ‘right’….I am so glad you are embracing your calling. I can’t wait to see where He leads you! Thanks for pointing me to your blog! It’s wonderful!

  2. Amen! Thanks for this encouragement as I hold on to my dreams. I will be what God has called me to be. Let’s be great at using the gifts God has given us! Bless you!

  3. Just seeing your post Tammi, thanks for your beautiful words. I read some beautiful words regarding callings recently: “People don’t find their callings, they fight for them to become a reality in their lives.” Truer words have never been spoken. I fight to be able to follow that calling every day in my life. I can’t wait to see where he leads me too, lol.

  4. I am so glad to hear that you are holding on to your dreams. Trying to do the things where you don’t fit can be frustrating to say the least. I am blessed to have found so many in this blogging community who love to read and write with a strong passion and love like mine. Keep sharing. I look forward to reading more from you.

  5. Excellent post. I always loved to read but was called to be a nurse. Which I did for 37 years. Now I write to spread inspiration, beauty, interesting stories and read other blogs to learn from others. Keep up the good work.

  6. God is indeed calling some folks to be His Writers. I believe it is both a Gift, a Calling and for a Purpose. Yes indeed holding on to Dreams and Visions. When I was younger many tried to shake them. Now God has purposed that the dreams and visions are of Him. I write. He is the source of all inspiration.

    1. It is truly is a gift, and a calling. He’s called me to write, and to write for his glory and to inspire others for the rest of my life! So many people are still trying to shake my dreams, including family members and friends, but as long as God says keep trying I will. Thank God, not me for all of my posts. They’re inspired by him, I just write them Faye lol.

Leave a Reply

