Neighborly Love

They say a person doesn’t know their future until they know their past….

Recently, I took a trip down memory lane while visiting two of my former neighbors’ homes one cold winter day in January. The former neighbors were and still are people I care deeply about and respect. Both of these women have cared for and nurtured my body and soul at some point in my life. Reflecting on the good times I had with these women and all of the life lessons I learned from them, I am grateful for their friendships and impacts on my life. They say it takes a village to raise a child, and it took (God used) these two women to keep an eye on me and my sister as well as keep us out of trouble when family members couldn’t. Words could never express the amount of gratitude I have in my heart for these women for choosing to accept, understand, love me, care for, and take care of me when they didn’t have to. After all, we were only neighbors. To me, they were more than neighbors though. They became lifelong friends. Their names will forever be imprinted on the depths of my heart. I remember lonely sad days when they cheered me up, times they fed me in more ways than one, times we sat as we laughed and talked, and them giving me advice about men. They’re old in age now and more frail than I remember them being, but the warmth and love in their eyes I see whenever they greet me still remains the same. Though it’s been about fifteen years combined since my family moved away from these lovely women and their neighborhoods, I’ll always call and visit them no matter where I reside. They cared even before I knew how to thank them.

 

“Love thy neighbor as you love yourself”-Mark 12:31

Happy February!

18 thoughts on “Neighborly Love

  1. There should be a special word for friends like this, those who are like family because they chose to step in and care for you in a special way. Very nice post. Thank you for introducing yourself to me!

  2. Great post! Indeed there are neighbours, friends and people who are good natured. Their act of kindness and good works are glaring when you cross paths with such people. They are a rare breed like your good neighbours. And acknowledging their kind gestures is the best way to go. Thanks for visiting my blog and the follow. Glad to connect since our blogs are in sync. Cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thank YOU for visiting MY blog and the FOLLOW. Your blog is awesome, and so inspiring. Maybe one of these days, I’ll post in my blog more than once a month lol. Cheers ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m glad you had such a relationship with your neighbours. They seem like part of your family. But no matter what you call them, they’re a big part of you.
    Yesterday, I was also remembering the past with my husband: talking about the good stuff and the bad. It made me feel good and gave me the extra motivation to take care of our future together. So, yes, knowing your past introduces you to your future. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. What an awesone tribute to these women. More of this should come forth because there are women who have done the same for me. It’s very nice indeed to be appreciated while you are living. Thanks for sharing this post.

Leave a Reply

