How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Christmas is right around the corner. Santa is bringing all of the kids in my family nice presents, and the Christmas stockings have all been hung. Yet, I can’t help but notice that the feeling of cheer has somehow eluded my family this year. Times are tough. Funds are low, we’re struggling to make ends meet and provide for ourselves, and we’re pressing along to help others in need that may or may not have fallen off the bandwagon mentally and spiritually. Add all that up, and this year I’ve got a bunch of family friends and friends who would rather skip, cancel, and wish Christmas away than spread cheer. However, recognizing the positive open-minded person that I’ve grown to become, I’m not one to let a little adversity dampen my spirits. Thinking about my family’s reluctance to celebrate Christmas this year led my mind back to the memory of one of my favorite Christmas movies. The movie is How the Grinch Stole Christmas. No matter how many times I watch it, it always marvels me how quickly the Whos forgive the Grinch and invite him to be a part of their celebration after he tries to steal their Christmas joy and cheer. It always astounds me how Cindy can still love and care for the Grinch with all of her heart, even after he lies to and steals from her and her community. Instead of leaving the miserable wretched Grinch all to himself alone, the Whos decided to show love to him teaching him how to love in the process. This Christmas, I can let other people’s feelings rub off on me, and let them stop me from celebrating the Christmas season as it should be celebrated. Or, I can go ahead and celebrate Christmas, regardless of how much I may or may not have to give. I choose the latter. After all, the Whos had nothing to give the Grinch but their love and cheer. The Grinch won’t be stealing my Christmas cheer either this year.

 “Joy to the world, the earth has come.”

“Christ the Savior is born!”

 Merry Christmas everyone, and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

