My Mothers: A Mother’s Day Special

In the month of May, the world celebrates mothers around the world on a day called Mother’s Day. The day is a day for children, spouses, and family members to honor and celebrate mothers for their impact on their family’s lives. Thinking about how much fun I had on this past Sunday with my family and three mothers (Mom, Grandma, and Aunt), a conversation I had with my best friend on the telephone a week and a half ago comes to mind. We were discussing what we were going to get our moms for Mother’s Day. She had thought about it, and planned to order it so that she could ship it to her mother. (I never found out what it was). I on the other hand had had a few ideas here and there, but nothing was set in stone the day I talked to my best friend on the phone. So, I pondered one of my ideas for a few more days, before I decided to give that as a gift to them as well as cards. I decided to place an ad in the paper to them on Mother’s Day, because they’re stars in my eyes, and I wanted the world (my community and daily newspaper company) to join me in thanking them for putting up with me on Mother’s Day. I’m always getting published on some media outlet or another because I’m an aspiring writer. Yet, their names had never appeared in the paper like mine had, and I wanted them too. They deserved it. They can’t write like me, but their sacrifices and love helped make me who I am today. Last week, as Mother’s Day crept closer and closer, I got more and more nervous about my gift to them. Words mean a lot to me as a writer, but I wasn’t sure how they would feel about it. Long story short: they loved having their names in the paper with a special message from me. They’re still gushing about it. I didn’t write all of this to gloat. I wrote all of this to highlight their love for me. It takes a village to raise a child, and if it weren’t for those three, I don’t know where I’d be. Those women are my heroes.

Do you have a mother, aunt, grandma, or family member who you

adore? Thank and cherish them not just on Mother’s Day,

but every day. Remember to always treat them well, respect

them, and treat them right. How was your Mother’s Day?

It’s May, and the sun’s shining! Enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

