Temptation and Lust

Temptation and Lust

 

Over the last couple of months, I’ve been going through a spiritual battle. The battle was between my spirit and flesh. Throughout the battle, I often wondered where God was, but the truth is halfway through the battle he left my side to let me have a go at the battle alone. He did this, I believe, because I fought so hard to get my way, and momentarily forgot about his will and purpose for my life. I won’t reveal what I was tempted by and lusted after in this post, but if you’ve ever been tempted by the lust of the flesh or the lust of the eye, you can relate. As soon as I stopped trying to do things my way instead of God’s, God told me to go aside and rest while he calmed the storm (my heartache and pain). Yet at times during the storm, my longings for the thing I was lusting and being tempted by were so strong that I would mope for days, and I almost lost my faith in God. However, my faith in God is still intact, and his peace rules my heart. It was my daily fellowship (prayer) with God that allowed me to endure the battle. God is faithful. He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. When you are tempted, he will provide a way out so that you can endure it (I Corinthians 10:13). I knew the spiritual battle was over when I woke up one morning, unconcerned and almost indifferent to whether or not I got the thing I had been lusting after. I concluded that my relationship with God was more important. The devil has tried to lure me away from God with this same temptation for about a year now, but God used it for my good. Now that the battle is over, I see that God allowed me to be tempted to strengthen me spiritually and remind me to surrender all to him.

How do you handle temptation and lust in your daily life?

Temptation and lust are big and powerful tools of

Satan’s, but God’s love and forgiveness are greater.

 

One thought on “Temptation and Lust

Leave a Reply

